EBRPL.com KIDS

What Will Fit

  • Author(s): Grace Lin
  • Illustrator:
  • 3-5
  • ©2020 Charlesbridge Publishing
  • Juv Boardbook Lin
What's the Story?

What Will Fit is part of a new series of Board Books entitled “Storytelling Math”. A young girl goes to the market with a basket. As she explores the market she tests how different fruits and vegetables fit inside her basket. She is looking for the perfect fit, but what will it be?!! In the back of this board book, it explains the importance of children building on their spatial sense and learning how shape fit together. There is also a section with additional activities to try with your toddler!

Dragon's Merry Christmas

  • Author(s): Dav Pilkey
  • Illustrator(s):
  • Ages: 5-8
  • ©2020 Scholastic Inc
  • Call Number: Juv Primer Pilkey
What's the Story?

Dragon LOVES CHRISTMAS! But Christmas needs lots of preparation! Follow Dragon on his journey to find the perfect Christmas Tree, but with so many trees how will he ever find the perfect one?! After, read on as Dragon makes a Candy Christmas Wreath. Can he manage not to eat all the candy before the wreath is done?! Dragon also takes you on his quest to stop losing his mittens and his venture for gifts that teaches him the real meaning of Christmas! Will everything turn out okay?! Read and find out! This primer reads more like a reader, with small chapters.

Beach Day!

  • Author(s): Candice Ransom
  • Illustrator(s): Erika Meza
  • Ages: 8-10
  • ©2020 Random House Children's Books
  • Call Number: Juv Reader Ransom
What's the Story?

Join a family for their day at the beach! Join them as they pack the car, travel to the beach, play in the sand, explore, and discover all the wonders of the beach, including shells that smell, crabs that pinch, and seaweed that tickles! But the fun does not stop there! When the sun goes down the family explores and plays on the board walk eating tasty treats and riding BIG rides! Oddly enough, this reader reads much more like a primer with bold simple illustrations and short easy sentences

Pugtato Finds a Thing

  • Author: Sophie Corrigan
  • Illustrator: Sophie Corrigan
  • Ages: 3-7
  • ©2020 Zonderkidz
  • Call Number: Juv PicBk Corrigan
What's the Story?

Meet Pugtato. He is a pug and, also, a potato. One day when Pugtato was digging in the mud, he found a thing. A round, shiny, new thing. However, he couldn’t figure out what the thing was, so he goes to his very best “spuddies” to see what they would say. Tomatoad thought it was for bouncing; Cowbbage just stared at it and mooo-ed; and, Collieflower just wanted to chase it around. A little sad and confused, Pugtato doesn’t know what to do, but when he follows his heart, he finds out what sets him apart. What do you think the Thing turns out to be? You’ll have to read to find out! This is such a cute and fun read for kids! It has adorable illustrations and has rhythm and rhymes. It’s definitely a great choice for older toddlers and younger kids because they will learn the different vegetables that are Pugtato’s friends. Plus, adults might enjoy the puns, too.

Sherlock Bones and the Natural History Museum

  • Author(s): Renee Treml
  • Illustrator(s): Renee Treml
  • Ages: 7-10
  • ©2020 Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Call Number: Juv Graphic Sherlock Bones
What's the Story?

Sherlock Bones is a hilarious read perfect for fans of Dog Man, Bad Guys, and anyone who just loves to search for clues hidden the pictures. When the Royal Blue Diamond, the world’s largest gem, goes missing from the State Natural History Museum, it’s up to Sherlock Bones and his sidekick Watts to solve the mystery. If they don’t, then the museum may have to close. Sherlock Bones is a twany frogmouth and Watts is a blue Indian ringneck parrot. They both live in an exhibit at the museum. Sherlock bones is, well, bones and Watts is stuffed, but they both seem to come alive at night. They are joined by Grace the raccoon, who is definitely alive, and sneaks into the museum looking for chocolate. There is also a mouse named ----Mickey! Will Grace help Sherlock Bones and Watts find the thief, or is she the thief herself? Read to find out, but do not miss all the cleverly placed clues, and red herrings, in the pictures. There are also lots of fun facts covering a wide range of natural science, from beetles to butterflies, interspersed throughout the book. I wonder if the clues and facts could help the reader solve the mystery before Sherlock Bones and Watts? All mystery lovers should enjoy the chance to solve the case alongside the cutest cast of museum characters.

The Great Bear Rescue: Saving the Gobi Bears

  • Author(s): Sandra Markel
  • Illustrator(s):
  • Ages: 9-12
  • ©2020 Millbrook Press
  • Call Number: Juv 333.959 M346
What's the Story?

Never having heard of Gobi Bears or of any bear living in the desert, for that matter, I found this book to be very informative as well as entertaining. Markel immediately captures the reader’s attention by beginning in a narrative fashion to tell the story of a female bear struggling to find sufficient food and water before her winter hibernation. Long ago, these bears lived in the grasslands around the Gobi Desert until nomadic herders began grazing sheep and camels in the area. This forced the bears to move to the harsher desert habitat. Amazingly, they were able to adapt and now live in one of the most extreme environments on earth, the Gobi Desert of Mongolia. It is not surprising that these bears are relatively unknown because estimates show as few as 30 remain. The story continues with explanations about the many difficulties these animals are facing. The Mongolian government and scientists are trying hard to track them and supplement their food and water. The most recent problems arise from illegal “ninja miners” searching for gold and disturbing the bears by camping near their oases. This is an informative, well-organized book enhanced by colorful photographs of the bears and their surroundings.

The Efficient, Inventive (Often Annoying) Melvil Dewey

  • Author(s): Alexis O'Neil
  • Illustrator(s): Edwin Fotheringham
  • Ages: 7-10
  • ©2020 Calking Creek
  • Call Number: Juv Bio D518.7o
What's the Story?

Throughout his youth, Melvil Dewey enjoyed organizing things. By the time he was of college age, he advanced from putting things in order in his Mother’s kitchen and helping his father in his shop to working in the Amherst College Library. Dewey noticed a lot of immigrants who could not read English yet were coming to America and he realized they need to learn fast and what better way to learn to read, but with good books. Dewey wanted free public libraries for everyone. The dilemma was how to organize all of the books efficiently rather than by color or size because at the time no two libraries shelved their books alike. After visiting many libraries and reading about how other people organized their library collections, Melvil Dewey developed his own system, which we use today called the Dewey Decimal Classification System using numbers and decimals to organize library books to make it easy to find a book’s location no matter which library you are using. Also, Melvil Dewey was a strong advocate for women to be educated in library school to become librarians. Other notes about the book: A timeline is included in the back of the book.

For Parents and Teachers